Live more simply and be happier

Feeling like you’re drowning in debt and bills? Does it seem like your paycheck never stretches far enough? You might find this story interesting.

It seems that a man in Utah has been living in a cave for three years and stopped spending money in the autumn of 2000.  Daniel Suelo is not like the average American-drowning in credit card debt, struggling with a mortgage, terrified of the next downsizing at the office. In fact, he isn’t worried about the economic crisis at all.

Although I don’t wish to live in a cave, I found this story made me think about my own life. How I feel deprived if I can’t buy that Starbucks coffee, or because I can’t afford the extended basic on cable television. I was also amazed on how this man survives on what he can forage in the forest, the generosity of friends who feed him sometimes in a nearby town, and the discards of modern society. Most of us can make do on less, with an adjustment in our expectations and some creativity. It seems to be a more spiritual way of living.

Leave a Reply

