My trip to Mississippi

Hello Readers:

I just got back from a road trip to Picayune, Mississippi. Picayune is located about 54 miles from New Orleans in Pearl River County with an estimated 10,500 residents (as of the year 2000). The road trip from New York to Picayune took me three days each way.

Picayune is named for a Spanish coin called a Picayune by the French inhabitants of New Orleans, the city was originally chartered in 1904.

The Picayune Amtrak Station, located in Picayune, Mississippi, is served by the Crescent passenger train. The street address is 200 South Highway 11, in the heart of downtown Picayune.

Visit a blog about Picayune: http://en.wordpress.com/tag/picayune-miss/

Not only did I enjoy seeing my relatives, but I enjoyed traditional Southern cuisine, including an abundance of fresh seafood.

I will post pictures of Mississippi and my road trip.

Leave a Reply

