I’m getting unsolicited calls on my cell phone

I’ve been getting unsolicited telemarketing phone calls on my cell phone.

 

When I Google the phone numbers, I get taken to a site where people report annoying phone calls received from the same or similar phone numbers.

 

I don’t know if there is a connection but I noticed I started getting phone calls more often after I send out a large number of online resumes. There must be a more secure way of answering help-wanted classified ads.

 

One option is to purchase a prepaid cell phone for only job searching purposes.

 

As long as we’re on the subject, take precautions when posting your resume online. Only use your first initial and last name, and be non-specific about years of graduation, dates of employment, or even names of the companies you worked for. Don’t list your home phone number. Let potential employers know you will provide more information if they ask.

 

If a potential employer should contact you, be careful. Don’t give out personal information on the phone until you’ve attended an interview.  Some scammers will call you posing as a potential employer.

 

Take time and research additional ways you can protect your identity and financial security. It is well worth your effort.

 

Source:

 

http://www.identitytheft.com/index.php/article/posting_your_resume_online

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

